Gluten Free Alcohol Guide

Are you affected by celiac disease but still like a stiff drink every now and then? Or are you entertaining guests that are sensitive to gluten? Whatever the reason, the Gluten Free Alcohol Guide is here to help you determine exactly what types of alcohol are considered acceptable to those with celiac disease. We’ve researched and compiled an ever-expanding database of liquors, beers, and mixed drinks in the hopes that you’ll find something that suits your tastes, without ever having to affect your health.

 

Vodka

Type
Gluten Free Brands
Price
Alcohol Content
VodkaBlue Ice $$40%
VodkaBombora --
VodkaChopin$$40%
VodkaCiroc Ultra Premium$$40%
VodkaCold River--
VodkaGlacier$$40%
VodkaLuksusowa$40%
VodkaMonopolowa-40%
VodkaSmirnoff$30-50%
VodkaTito's$$40%
VodkaVikingfjord $40%

Price List: $=$0-20, $$=$20-40, $$$=$40+

TIP: Many types of vodka are distilled from grains that contain Gluten, but most experts say that the Gluten is removed during the distillation process. However, to be on the safe side, look for vodkas that were made from corn, potatoes, or grapes.

 

Whiskey, Bourbon, and Scotch

Type
Gluten Free Brands
Price
Alcohol Content
BourbonBulleit Bourbon$$45%
ScotchBulloch Lade$$$-
Scotch WhiskeyCrawford's$$40%
Canadian WhiskeyCrown Royal$$-$$$40-45%
WhiskeyFive Star$40%
Tennessee WhiskeyGeorge Dickel$-$$40-45%
Tennessee WhiskeyJack Daniel's$$40%
Scotch WhiskeyJohnnie Walker (all)$$$40-45%
Whiskey Queen Jennie $$40%
WhiskeySeagram's 7$35.5%

Price List: $=$0-20, $$=$20-40, $$$=$40+

 TIP: While most experts have concluded that distilled alcoholic beverages like whiskey are gluten-free; some with gluten sensitivity have experienced severe gluten reactions to whiskey that’s been distilled from gluten grains. If you are particularly sensitive, it might be wise to start slowly with whiskey and see how you react, or just stick with other types of liquor, like certain types of vodka or rum.

 

Tequila

Type
Gluten Free Brands
Price
Alcohol Content
Tequila1800$$40%
TequilaDon Julio Blanco$$$40%
TequilaJose Cuervo$$40%
TequilaPatron$$$40%

Price List: $=$0-20, $$=$20-40, $$$=$40+

TIP: If the tequila bottle does not state “100% agave,” then it is considered “mixto.” These brands might contain added sugar and potentially gluten.

 

Other

Besides the main types of the hard liquor, there are many other types of drinks out there that are ok to consume. Below is a list of some of the other options available.

Gluten Free Brands
Armagnac
Brandy
Champagne
Cognac - Made from grapes
Grappa
Kahlua
Kirschwasser
Mead
Sake
Sherry
Sparkling Wine
Wine

This guide was created in the hopes that it would alleviate the confusion that’s present when selecting from such a wide array of drink choices. We try our best to keep this as accurate and up-to-date as we can. However, it’s important to note that not all people react the same way to certain foods and drinks. Please use your own discretion when trying something new, and always drink in moderation.

See something we missed? Visit our Contact Us page, and let us know!

Helpful Info: Gluten Free Wine

If you are a fan of wine, but worried about gluten, then go ahead and breathe a sigh of relief. For the most part, wine is gluten free, mainly because it is made primarily from grapes. However, there are several factors that might come into play when deciding on a particular type of gluten free … Continue reading

Helpful Info: Gluten Free Vodka

One of the most popular types of liquor out there is vodka. However, is there such a thing as gluten free vodka? Short answer: Absolutely. The distilling process used to make liquor can help eliminate almost all gluten that’s present in the vodka’s ingredients. However, it’s important to note that different types of vodkas are … Continue reading

Helpful Info: Gluten Free Whiskey

As we had noted earlier in our article regarding vodka, most of the gluten found in liquor will be removed thanks to the distilling process. So does that make whiskey safe to label as gluten free?… Not quite. The main difference regarding whiskey deals with the primary ingredients used to make it. For the most … Continue reading